1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You may have to login or register before you can post and view our exclusive members only forums.
    To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
    Dismiss Notice
Why Not Register?

It only takes a few minutes to register on SixCrazyMinutes

Click Here

Strange problem accessing via IE

Discussion in 'Feedback and How to ? Forum' started by tombrown, Dec 2, 2018.

  1. tombrown

    tombrown Very Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,997
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Trophy Points:
    1,065
    Location:
    Corofin, Co Clare
    OK - so first a confession - I still use Internet Explorer (11) as my main browser. I keep meaning to move to firefox (which I use, but not by default) but never get round to it

    Anyway this morning when I tried to come to the site I got a "Site not found" error with detailed informaiton:

    The DNS server might be having problems.
    Error Code: INET_E_RESOURCE_NOT_FOUND

    Now when I try it on Firefox or Chrome it works fine. I've cleaned out my cookies etc, rebooted PC etc but still the same issue

    Any ideas?​
     
  2. Athens

    Athens Greatest Bloke Ever [Citation Needed] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    25,748
    Likes Received:
    15,662
    Trophy Points:
    1,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Yes, stop using ie.

    I don't think it's still being supported, so your chances of catching a fatal virus increase daily.
     
    Woland likes this.
  3. doctor_mac

    doctor_mac My cowboy name is Garland Justice Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    35,072
    Likes Received:
    16,514
    Trophy Points:
    1,775
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Norniron
    Jaysus.  I didn't know anybody still used IE.  Tom, are you like a hundred or something?
     
  4. tombrown

    tombrown Very Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,997
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Trophy Points:
    1,065
    Location:
    Corofin, Co Clare
    Haha

    Old habits die hard

    In fairness I did switch to firefox a few years back, but when I left my job & got a new PC, for some reaosn I switched back to IE
     
  5. tombrown

    tombrown Very Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,997
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Trophy Points:
    1,065
    Location:
    Corofin, Co Clare
    and nwo tapatalk isnt working for me. Must be just me; someone up there hates me
     
  6. Ukrainian by marriage

    Ukrainian by marriage Very Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trophy Points:
    330
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sussex
    My company makes us use IE. :(
     
  7. Barba Roja

    Barba Roja Plundering since 2005... Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12,620
    Likes Received:
    4,770
    Trophy Points:
    820
    Just buy a mac - They are far far better *Runs*
     
  8. tombrown

    tombrown Very Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,997
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Trophy Points:
    1,065
    Location:
    Corofin, Co Clare
    I know you're all desperate to know the latest on this, so let me update you.

    I have no idea how, but it looks like it may have been sometthing to do with my router. While SCM failed to load on IE and Tapatalk wasnt working (on my phone connected to home wifi), all other internet access seemed to be OK. However when I went out and conected to a 4G signal, tapatalk started working again. Got home late evenig and again it wasnt working, switched off wifi on my phone & connected to 4G and it worked. So I restarted my router & lo and behold - IE started loading SCM and Tapatalk worked on wifi ...

    I dont undertsand it, and it sounds doubtful, but there it is ...

    Going to spend a bit of time now migratign everything to firefox & removing IE
     
  9. Athens

    Athens Greatest Bloke Ever [Citation Needed] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    25,748
    Likes Received:
    15,662
    Trophy Points:
    1,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    You've been compromised by the Russians.
     
  10. tombrown

    tombrown Very Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,997
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Trophy Points:
    1,065
    Location:
    Corofin, Co Clare
    It was inevitable the Stalinists would eventually catch up with me. Expect an icepick soon ...
     
  11. Athens

    Athens Greatest Bloke Ever [Citation Needed] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    25,748
    Likes Received:
    15,662
    Trophy Points:
    1,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    This one is just for you, Tom.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. HC

    HC Very Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    31,600
    Likes Received:
    2,551
    Trophy Points:
    1,070
    Gender:
    Male
    Do people,Tom aside, still use Firefox? Assumed everybody used Chrome.
     
  13. doctor_mac

    doctor_mac My cowboy name is Garland Justice Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    35,072
    Likes Received:
    16,514
    Trophy Points:
    1,775
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Norniron
    Chrome for me.
     

Share This Page